Press Release

50 “Intellectual Property Trailblazers & Pioneers” Recognized by ALM’s The National Law Journal on Inaugural List

50 “Intellectual Property Trailblazers & Pioneers” Recognized by ALM’s The National Law Journal on Inaugural List

NEW YORK – October 27, 2014 – Fifty of the top IP lawyers in the field have been recognized in the National Law Journal’s inaugural “Intellectual Property Trailblazers & Pioneers” special supplement. Released on October 27th, the list is comprised of individuals who are “raising the bar” in intellectual property law in areas including copyright, patents, trademarks and licensing.
As the value of intellectual property assets rises, IP law has become a hotbed of activity, with high-stakes Supreme Court cases and regulatory developments reshaping the legal landscape. From private practice attorneys and general counsel to CEOs, entrepreneurs and regulators, this list offers a snapshot of success and extraordinary leadership in a closely-watched area critical to global innovation.

“Intellectual property has become one of the fastest moving and complex areas of the law, with judicial proceedings and policy changes having a transformative impact on business and industry,” said Tom Larranaga, publisher of The National Law Journal.  “Today we celebrate a broad cross section of individuals, who have played a key role innovating in the field, helping to advance the way copyright, patent, trademark or licensing law is practiced, or changing how IP is established, managed and protected.”

The Trailblazers & Pioneers list was introduced by the National Law Journal last year and has grown to include categories such as legal business, and governance, risk and compliance. On December 15th, the inaugural Litigation Trailblazers & Pioneers list will be published.

The complete list of winners is as follows: Sally M. Abel; Greg Aharonian; David Almeling; John A. Amster and Geoffrey T. Barker; David H. Bernstein; Jonathan H. Blavin; David Brown; Gregory A. Castanias; Yar R. Chaikovsky; I. Neel Chatterjee; Lee Cheng; Morgan Chu; Bill Coughlin; Elizabeth Elting; Randal L. Gainer; Matthew Goodwin; Francis Gurry; Melissa Harrup; David L. Hayes; David J. Kappos; Mark J. Itri; Susan Kayser; Michelle K. Lee; Domenic A. Leo; Allen Lo; James E. Malackowski; Floyd A. Mandell; Mika Mayer; Michael J. McKeon; Scott A. McKeown; Matthew John Moore; Jason Mudd; Nathan Myhrvold; Charles B. Ortner; Chris R. Ottenweller; Gordon Petrash; Marshall Phelps; Teresa “Terry” Stanek Rea; W. Karl Renner and Dorothy P. Whelan; Kevin G. Rivette; Ralph G. Schroeder; Ronald J. Schultz; Peter Sewell; Tyron Stading; Thomas J. Smedinghoff; Robert Greene Sterne; Peter J. Toren; Michael R. Ward; Seth P. Waxman; and Christopher Wolf.

About ALM

ALM is the most trusted media, information and intelligence company supporting both the practice of and business of professionals in the legal, insurance, commercial real estate and financial services industries. ALM delivers leading data, intelligence, insights, events and audiences essential for growing businesses globally to over 7 million professionals. Please visit for more information, and visit to learn about our upcoming events. Please follow us on Twitter at @ALMGlobal_.